pre content image

Governing Board

/Governing Board
Governing Board2018-09-05T11:15:29+00:00

Prairielands is directed by a Governing Board of nine (9) members. There are five (5) citizen members representing the public. Three come from the Pioneerland Library System region and the remaining two come from the Plum Creek Library System region. There are four (4) working library staff, one representative for each type of member library served by SAMMIE: academic, public, school and special library. This Board adopts and evaluates the Strategic Plan, budget, programs, services and policies.

Prairielands Governing Board FY2017 – FY2018 Members

Jan Louwagie
Special Library Representative, History Center, Southwest Minnesota State University
Marshall, MN

Dennis Ulrich
Citizen Representative, Pioneerland Library System / Personnel Committee
Renville, MN

Gwen Sturrock
Citizen Representative, Plum Creek Library System
Marshall, MN

Maria Kingsbury
Academic Library Representative, Southwest Minnesota State University
Marshall, MN

Deb Lanthier
Public Library Representative, Pioneerland Library System
Madison-Dawson-Canby, MN Public Libraries

Theresa Nysetvold – Presdent
School Library Representative, Murray County Central Schools
Slayton, MN

Jack Sandberg 
Citizen Representative, Pioneerland Library System / Personnel Committee
Hutchinson, MN

Clara Friese
Citizen Representative, Plum Creek Library System
Redwood Falls, MN

Abigail Duly – Vice President
Citizen Representative, Pioneerland Library System
New London, MN


Prairielands Member Council

What is the Prairielands Member Council?

The Prairielands Member Council’s (PMC) first meeting was February 1, 2002. PMC is an unstructured group. The group does not have a formal charge, except to look to the future of Prairielands. It explores how Prairielands should and can serve its member libraries. The group picks its own direction for discussion and activity as well as responding to requests from the Governing Board, staff and member libraries. This unstructured approach seems to work well.
PMC has 12 members: the Directors of Prairielands, Pioneerland, Plum Creek [or their designee] and representatives from member libraries to include one special, one academic, two Pioneerland, two Plum Creek, three schools. Terms are for two calendar years with no limit to the number of terms. Meetings are open to anyone who wants to attend.  All members are required to solicit their own replacements.

Prairielands Member Council FY18-19 Members

  •  Shelly Grace, Prairielands
  •  Meredith Vaselaar, Adrian Public Library
  •  Cindy Hendrickx, Appleton Public Library
  •  Bev Benz, Canby Public Library
  •  Michele Leininger, Marshall-Lyon County Public Library
  •  Kaia Johnson, Marshall Public Schools
  •  Laurie Ortega, Pioneerland Library System
  •  Kip Thorson, Minnesota West Community & Technical College
  •  Jim Trojanowski, Plum Creek Library System

Teen Co-Op Steering Committee

Founded in June 2007 Prairielands (then SAMMIE), in conjunction with the Pioneerland and Plum Creek Library Systems, began to provide coordinated and cooperative support  for healthy young adults throughout the region.  A team of like-minded individuals dedicated to encouraging the expansion of young adult services for our area were invited to part of this new initative and the  PSP Teen Co-op Steering Committee was born.

Prairielands Teen Co-Op Members

  •  Prairielands Office
    •  Shelly Grace, Executive Director
  •  Pioneerland Library System
    •  Margaret Weigelt, Atwater Public Library
  •  Plum Creek Library System
    •  Bronwyn Wenzel, Rock County Community Library
    •  Dwayna Paplow, Fulda Public Library
    • Emily Blaeser, Meinders Community Library
  • School Library
    •  Lisa Spieker, Worthington Middle and High Schools

School Library Committee

The Prairielands School Library Committee is made up of three media specialists/school librarians, one academic librarian, and one public librarian, as well as a representative from the SW/WC Cooperative, a total of six individuals.  We hope that through the combined talents of this committee, we can design offerings for our regional school media centers which will suit their needs and inspire them professionally.

Prairielands School Library Committee

  •  Tami Tagtow, ACGC Schools
  •  Teri Smith, Redwood Falls Public Library
  •  Theresa Nysetvold, Murray County Central Schools
  •  Maria Kingsbury, Southwest Minnesota State University
  •  Shelly Maes, Southwest West Central Services

Prairielands Documents